3 Ways To Style Your Shirt Dress

The best thing about some apparel is that you can style them in a lot of ways. One such apparel is a shirt dress. So, I recently bought a shirt dress that looked a lot like a shrug but could also be worn as an ethnic wear. It was then when the idea of styling that dress in three ways came to my mind and hence, I decided to come up with this post.

Like that dress, I’m sure you too must have a lot of apparel that you can wear in several ways and use to create different looks. All you need to do is experiment a little. Throw some stuff here, throw some stuff there and then, have a look at everything you have in your classy collection and I’m sure you’ll see how many versatile looks you can create using the clothes that you already own.

So, let’s have a look at all the three looks that I created using my vertically stripped shirt dress:

Look 1: The Casual Chic Girl Look

In this outfit, I wore my shirt dress as a long shrug. To make the look casual yet fashionable, I decided to wear a front criss cross bralette with my black scoop neck crop top, paired up with my Mid-rise Levis jeans. You can wear a bralette as a crop top as well and pair it up with a high-waist jeans. I got my bralette from Amazon. You can order the same online or get it from any flea market like Sarojini Nagar (Delhi) where you can get these for just 200 bucks.

To add a little bling to the outfit, I decided to go with my New Look Monk shoes from koovs and completed the look with a casual silver necklace that is from an online web-store called Zylph. It’s an accessory web-store where you can get chic accessories at affordable prices. The website belongs to my sister and hasn’t gone live yet. So, I’ll upload the link as soon as her website goes live and post about the same on my Instagram handle (@prettylittlevirtuoso).

Look 1 7Look 1 3

Look 1 5

Look 1 8

Look 1 1

Look 1 4

Look 1 2

Look 1 6

Outfit Details:

  • Black scoop neck crop top (Bought for Rs. 300 from Big C Mall, Delhi)
  • Front criss-cross bralette (Amazon.in)
  • Silver necklace (Zylph.in)
  • Vintage looking leather strap watch by Sonata (Flipkart)
  • Mid Rise shaping skinny jeans by Levis
  • New Look Single Strap Patent Monk Shoes (Koovs)
  • Vertically Stripped Dress from Funky Store (Kamla Nagar, Delhi)

Look 2: The Traditional Look

In the second look, I wore my shirt dress as a kurta and left the last few buttons open to give the look of a front-slit kurta. I paired it up with my Miss Chase high waist black jeggings and a pair of black flats.To add a little Indian touch to my look, I made a design with my sketch pen eye-liner which looked a lot like a bindi. You can use this hack as well if you plan to wear an ethnic outfit but don’t have Bindis with you.

For accessories, I decided to go with silver bangles, my leather strap Sonata watch and the must-have oxidized silver jhumkas. Jhumkas are the best way bring out the Indian-girl in you. They indeed look very elegant when worn with ethnic wear.

Traditional 4

Traditional 1

Traditional 6

Traditional 5

Traditional 2

Traditional 3

Outfit Details:

  • Vertically Stripped Dress from Funky Store (Kamla Nagar, Delhi)
  • High waist black jeggings by Miss Chase
  • Black flats (Bought for Rs.200 from Sarojini Nagar, Delhi)
  • Oxidized silver jhumkas (Bought for Rs. 70 from Sarojini Nagar)

Look 3: The Date Look

Finally wearing this shirt dress as a dress, I created the last look called The Date Look. I wore my skin colored stocking socks with my New Look Blakc Monk shoes, carrying a black sling bag. You can do the same with black stocking socks as well if you have the same kind of shoes and recreate this simple yet stylish look.

Dress 4

Dress 3 a

Dress 1

Dress 4 a final

Dress 2

Photography by Eliza Anjum

Outfit Details:

  • Vertically Stripped Dress from Funky Store (Kamla Nagar, Delhi)
  • Black sling bag (Bought for Rs. 800 from Kamla Nagar, Delhi)
  • Skin colored stockings (Bought for Rs. 50 from Kamla Nagar, Delhi)
  • Watch by Sonata

I hope you liked the article and the three looks that I created using my shirt dress. Keep following me for more such posts.

Have a great day ahead and remember ladies, the world is your runway!

8 thoughts on “3 Ways To Style Your Shirt Dress

  1. Its a great endeavor that you’ve just started for all the girls struggling out there to get tips about how they should make a style statement! Thanks a ton Simran! Its highly appreciable! And all these looks are top-notch!! Way to go girl! Kudos!!😊💞😘👌

    Like

    1. Thank you so much, Pranshi. Yes, I had been waiting for a year to get started with my photography blog. Feels great now that I have actually started with this thing. Getting great response as well. Glad to know you liked the post and found it useful. 💕💕😘

      Like

Leave a Reply

